Cape Winelands

Western Cape

About the

Cape Winelands


The Cape Winelands District Municipality, formerly the Boland District Municipality, is a district municipality located in the Boland region of the Western Cape province of South Africa. As of 2011, it had a population of 787,490. The largest towns in the municipality are Paarl, Worcester, Stellenbosch and Wellington. The boundaries of this municipality, which covers an area of 22,289 square kilometres, coincide roughly with the boundaries of the geographical area that has been known since the early days of the Cape Colony as "The Boland".

In Afrikaans Boland means "up land" or "the higher land" or "the land above" (i.e. in contrast to the low coastal areas of the original Dutch settlement at the Cape). However, the term "Boland", as originally used, was a loose concept, with no defined borders (cf. the informal but not meaningless terms "The Sahara" or "The Rocky Mountains").


There's More